Maine Personal Injury Lawyers

No fee unless we win.

We go about our daily activities without thinking about the risk of an accident or injury caused by the wrongful or negligent acts of another. When accidents happen, the physical and emotional consequences can be drastic, leading to long-term medical conditions that impact our ability to earn a living, care for our families or engage in the activities we enjoy.

You are a personal injury victim if you have been harmed by someone else’s careless or reckless conduct. Through a personal injury lawsuit, you can hold the person who caused your injury accountable and seek compensation for your damages.

For more than a century and a half, the experienced attorneys at Skelton, Taintor & Abbott have helped our clients achieve successful results in personal injury cases in Auburn, Rockland, Waterville, Augusta, Bangor, Lewiston, Biddeford, Portland, South Portland and throughout the state of Maine.

We have insight and experience in handling a variety of personal injury cases, such as:

The personal injury attorneys at Skelton, Taintor & Abbott will review your case and determine whether you may be entitled to compensation. You may have a legal action if:

  • The person who caused your injury owed a duty to you (such as the duty of a fellow driver to obey traffic laws);
  • The person failed to carry out that duty (such as driving while intoxicated);
  • You suffered injury as a direct result of that failure (including the physical and emotional injuries of you and your family).

In Maine, the person who injured you could be held responsible for the harm you suffered. That could include:

  • Damage to your property, such as repairs to your car, boat, snowmobile or ATV;
  • Past, current and future medical expenses;
  • Permanent disfigurement or disability;
  • Lost wages, including those lost from time spent receiving medical treatment;
  • Loss of the capacity to work even if you have no lost wages;
  • Emotional distress, including anxiety and depression.

Maine is a “modified comparative fault” state, which means you can recover damages from another person if you are 49 percent or less at fault for the accident that caused your injury. Unlike other comparative fault states, a jury in Maine does not have to reduce your damages by your percentage of fault but instead may reduce your damages by an amount it deems to be “just and equitable” under the circumstances.

Generally, under Maine’s “statute of limitations,” you have six years from the date of your injury to file a personal injury lawsuit against the person who harmed you. However, there are a number of exceptions. Medical malpractice claims generally must be filed within three years of the healthcare professional’s act or omission. In ski accident cases, claims must be filed within two years.  In cases involving the state or any municipality you must give notice within 6 months and file suit in two years.  These are just some of the exceptions.  In all cases, it is important to act quickly to preserve evidence, collect witness statements and protect your rights to recovery.

If you have suffered a personal injury, call the experienced personal injury attorneys at Skelton, Taintor & Abbott at (800) 639-7026 or contact us online to learn more about your legal options.